Jump to Content
Department of Infrastructure and Regional Development logo

Regional Development

National Awards for Local Government

image of Local Awards for Local Government banner

Entries Now Open

About the Awards

Local Government is an annual celebration of Australian local government achievements. The Awards recognise the important role of local governments in delivering targeted quality services to Australians in urban and regional communities. The Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development Warren Truss launched the 2014 Awards on 10 February 2014.

Through the Awards, the Australian Government celebrates local government projects that are innovative, deliver better outcomes for communities, have the potential to be rolled out across the country and that make a meaningful difference. The Awards are administered by the Department of Infrastructure and Regional Development with support from sponsoring Australian Government departments.


  • Arts Animates—excellence in community engagement and participation
    Sponsored by the Ministry for the Arts in the Attorney-General's Department
    [PDFPDF: 125 KB] [ReadSpeaker] [DOCDOC: 459 KB]
  • Disability Access and Inclusion
    Sponsored by the Department of Social Services
    [PDFPDF: 139 KB] [ReadSpeaker] [DOCDOC: 461 KB]
  • Improve Productivity and Regional Development
    Sponsored by the Department of Infrastructure and Regional Development
    [PDFPDF: 108 KB] [ReadSpeaker] [DOCDOC: 457 KB]
  • Multicultural Australia—Strength in Diversity
    Sponsored by the Department of Social Services
    [PDFPDF: 120 KB] [ReadSpeaker] [DOCDOC: 459 KB]
  • Promoting Indigenous Recognition
    Sponsored by the Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet
    [PDFPDF: 126 KB] [ReadSpeaker] [DOCDOC: 460 KB]
  • Youth Employment
    Sponsored by the Department of Education
    [PDFPDF: 111 KB] [ReadSpeaker] [DOCDOC: 457 KB]

How to enter

Entries can be submitted using the online entry form.

Please note the entry requirements for submissions.

  1. In preparing your submission ensure you have referred to the Submission Guidelines and the appropriate Category Factsheet.
  2. You must provide a brief description of your project (300 words).
  3. A 300 word limit applies to each criterion. Short attachments are permitted (10 page total limit on attachments).
  4. All material will be printed in greyscale only.
  5. Multimedia submissions will not be accepted.

Submissions for the 2014 Awards will be accepted until 21 March 2014. Late submissions will not be accepted. If you are unable to access the online entry form or if you require any additional information please email the Awards Team at Awards@infrastructure.gov.au.

Key dates

10 February 2014 Entries open
21 March 2014 Entries close
24 March 2014 Compliance checks
28 March 2014 Shortlisting-category assessments
16 April 2014 Finalists announced
6 May 2014 National judging—presentations
17 June 2014 National grand finalists presented with Awards
Bookmark and Share


Last Updated: 11 February, 2014